Join us in just a few
Myths About Mead.
If you like mead as much as we love it, you might want to delve into its rich history. First, you might ask what is mead? Mead is a naturally gluten-free alcoholic drink derived from the fermentation of honey.
Mead was traditionally used in celebratory and daily activities throughout medieval Europe, from Vikings, to Celts, to Ancient Greeks, and has been traced to use well before then.  Even the word ‘honeymoon’ owes its origin to mead as “mead was drunk in great quantities at weddings and then after the ceremony nuptial couples were given a month’s supply of mead.”  The process behind mead even gave birth to a modern fan-favorite: wine.  As with any subject worth its salt, mead merits further research. Below you will find just a few launching points to get started.
Endnotes and Citations
Copyright 2017 Mythic Mead LLC | Mythic Mead® is a registered trademark.